Eight steps to an FAA STC


If anyone is unsure about the steps involved in earning a Supplemental Type Certificate (STC) from the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), a handy infographic could help. CertifyNation, a division of The Angelus Corporation, an aerospace engineering and certification services company, has outlined an eight-step program to achieving an STC.

The eight steps to STC issuance are:

  1. Initial Technical Coordination Meeting (ITCM) and Aircraft Survey
  2. File STC Application with FAA
  3. Design and Substantiation Data Development
  4. Receive TIA from FAA or ODA
  5. Prototype Aircraft Installation
  6. Inspection and Testing
  7. Receive FAA STC
  8. Foreign STC Validation 

    And in infographic form:

    8 Steps to an FAA STC

Share this story:

About Author


Alasdair joined the team in 2015 and works across a number of titles and websites for UKi Media & Events. He has been a journalist for 10 years, covering everything from travel and technology to sport and entertainment, and brings a wealth of experience, and pedantry, to the team. Away from the office, he is a celebrated snood connoisseur, determined to cycle no matter what the weather decides to hurl from the sky, and driven by a quest to find the very finest, and more importantly the next, slice of cheesecake.

Comments are closed.